How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram DM | Here’s What You Can Do!

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram DM

Over the years, Instagram has played an important role in the lives of people. Instagram is one of the most popular social media platforms. It lets the user connect with different friends, family, celebrities, brands, and more. Almost, everyone these days is active on Instagram but even then some people have trouble with how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram DM or not.

When it comes to privacy, Instagram has limited features. Privacy features like Blocking are quite easy to figure out as you are not able to view the user’s profile anymore but when it comes to being restricted, it is difficult to know.

If someone restricts you on Instagram DM then you can no longer send messages or interact with that person through Instagram. You can still see the person’s content that including their posts, stories, and comments. As such, there is no way to know for sure but if the person hasn’t seen your messages then there’s a chance that they have restricted your account. If you are also wondering how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram DM then this article will provide you with all the information that you need to know.

Instagram account blocked: cannot b...
Instagram account blocked: cannot be liked or tagged, and account is restricted

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram DM?

If you are also wondering if someone restricted you on Instagram DM then you can are at the right place. There is no certain way to know if someone restricted you on Instagram or not. Instagram does not let you know that. As such, there is no notification update regarding someone restricting you on Instagram DM. 

One way in which you can know if someone restricted you on Instagram DM is when your messages have remained unseen for a long period of time then there’s a possibility that someone has restricted you on Instagram DM. The person can read your message without accepting it and it will not be marked as “seen” so there’s no way to know for sure. 

You can try sending them a message again but even after that they haven’t seen your message then it is highly possible that someone restricted you on Instagram DM. 

What Happens If Someone Restricted You On Instagram DM?

When an Instagram-restricted account sends you a message, you will not receive a notification like you normally would. In order to go through their DMs, you would go to “hidden requests” that you will find in the “request tabs” in your Instagram profile. You can do that in the following ways:

Step 1: Open your Instagram profile home page.

Step 2: On the top right corner of the screen, click on the “request” option

Step 3: The request tab will show you two options one is the DMs sent by the users you are not following and the other is hidden requests. You have to click on the hidden request option. 

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram DM

Step 4: Now you can view all the restricted Instagram DMs. Instagram also automatically restricts DMs that are abusive words or emojis.

Step 5: After opening the messages you will find three options- block, delete, and accept. The Instagram restricted account will not be notified if you read their messages without accepting them. 

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram DM

Also Read: This Song Is Currently Unavailable Instagram | 6 Easy Fixes To Try!

Can You DM Someone If They Restricted You?

As mentioned above if a restricted Instagram account sends you a message then you will not receive any notification. It goes another way also, if you are a restricted Instagram user then you can send them a DM without knowing that you are restricted.

How To Restrict Someone On Instagram?

If you are also wondering how can you restrict someone on Instagram then you can follow the given steps below:

Step 1: Open Instagram and on the right side of the screen, click on the “paper plane” icon. There you can see the list of all the contacts in your DM inbox.

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram DM

Step 2: Now simply select the user that you want to restrict on Instagram DM and click on “restrict”. This will remove your conversation with that person and transfer it to the request tab and you will be done.

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram DM

Wrapping Up

There is no specific way through which you can know if someone restricted you on Instagram DM. If the person hasn’t seen your message for a long time then there’s a possibility that has restricted your account but you cannot be 100% sure. This article will give you all the information that you need to know if someone restricted you on Instagram DM.

Also Read: This Song Is Currently Unavailable Instagram | 6 Easy Fixes To Try!

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What Happens If A Instagram Restricted Account Sends You A Message?

When an Instagram-restricted account sends you a message, you will not receive a notification like you normally would. In order to go through their DMs, you would go to “hidden requests” that you will find in the “request tabs” in your Instagram profile. You can no longer send messages or interact with that person through Instagram. 

2. How Can You Restrict Someone On Instagram?

If you are also wondering how can you restrict someone on Instagram then you can follow the given steps below:

Step 1: Open Instagram and on the right side of the screen, click on the “paper plane” icon. There you can see the list of all the contacts in your DM inbox.

Step 2: Now simply select the user that you want to restrict on Instagram DM and click on “restrict”. This will remove your conversation with that person and transfer it to the request tab and you will be done.

3. Can You DM Someone If They Have Restricted You?

All your chats with the restricted user will move from your main account to message request. you will not receive a notification like you normally would. In order to go through their DMs, you would go to “hidden requests” that you will find in the “request tabs” in your Instagram profile. You can no longer send messages or interact with that person through Instagram.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top