What Does Restrict Mean On Instagram | Can You Restrict Someone?

What Does Restrict Mean On Instagram

Today a lot of attention has been given to mental health and this issue in turn has put a lot of pressure on the social media giants like Instagram. So that they can address the safety and security concerns on this platform. Hence, recently Instagram has launched the restriction option on its platform. Do you know What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram?

Well, the latest restriction feature on Instagram will allow you to limit how often you can see the comments and the messages from particular accounts in your feed. When you would block someone on Instagram, the other person would know. But, when you restrict someone, they will not know anything about it.

So, What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram? Well restricting any users on Instagram is quite similar to blocking someone on this platform but is a bit polite. When you block someone on Instagram, they will not get to see your whole feed and stories from them. The restrict feature will just hide your comments and messages.

Now, it is obvious that we cannot explain everything here. So, to learn about the meaning of restriction you will have to read below where you will find the full-fledged information about the same.

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram?

What Does Restrict Mean On Instagram

So, What Does Restrict Mean On Instagram after all? Restricting any user on Instagram will be the same as blocking them but in a sweet way. When you block someone, then they cannot see your feed or stories. However, on the other hand, when you restrict someone, it will just hide their comments and messages from you, while they will still be able to view your posts. You can say that this is a subtle way by which you can limit unwanted interaction without actually removing them from seeing your content.

Related: Instagram Paid Subscriptions For Creators | TikTok Follows The Footsteps!

What Happens When You Restrict Someone On Instagram?

What Does Restrict Mean On Instagram

Niw, that we know What Does Restrict Mean On Instagram, let’s get to know what happens when you restrict someone. When you restrict someone on Instagram you can hide that person’s comments and direct messages from yourself and also from others. Moreover, you will also not get any notification when that person will comment on your posts or send you a message. They will also be able to see some of your activities like when you were online. The restriction is the best way if you don’t want to block them or remove them from your following list but at the same time, you also don’t want them to get full access to your account.

How To Restrict Someone On Instagram?

Whether you use Android, iPhone, or a website you will still be able to restrict someone on Instagram through their accounts profile. Here are a few steps that you need to follow:

Step 1: On the profile page of the user, you need to click on the three dots menu icon.

How To Restrict Someone On Instagram?

Step 2: Click on the restrict option.

How To Restrict Someone On Instagram?

Step 3: If you are a first time, then, you will get to see the explanation about the restriction feature. Then click on the restrict account.

Step 4: You will get to see a pop-up window that says that the user is now restricted. Click on the learn more option to get more information or dismiss it, and then go back to your profile.

Related: How To Remove A Tag On Instagram: Get Rid Of Unnecessary Tags

How To Restrict Someone On Instagram Account Through The Comments Section?

If you want to restrict someone on Instagram through the comments section on the post, then here are a few steps that will help you out with the same.

Step 1: If you are an iOS user, then you need to swipe left on the comment from the users that you want to restrict. Those using Android devices need to click and then hold the comment.

Step 2: Then, you need to click on the exclamation point icon and select restrict option.

How To Restrict Someone On Instagram Through Settings?

Do you know that even from the settings you will be able to restrict someone on Instagram? Let’s check out how you can do that.

Step 1: Go to your Instagram profile, and click on the three-bar menu icon which you will find in the upper right-hand side corner of the screen.

How To Restrict Someone On Instagram Through Settings?

Step 2: Click on the Settings option followed by privacy. Now, click on the restricted accounts.

How To Restrict Someone On Instagram Through Settings?

Step 3: Now, you will find restrict option just next to the name of the account. Click on it.

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram?

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram?

If someone has restricted you, then there is no full-proof method to find out about it. You will not know about it whether you have been restricted or not, and neither will Instagram notify you. It’s just a matter of time when you will eventually know it. But.

However, there are a few ways by which you can find out. Check if you can see their status on Instagram or not. Green if they are online or status like Active 1h ago under their message. You can even try to leave a comment on their latest post and ask a friend to see If your comment is visible or not. If that friend is not able to see your comment, then there is a possibility that you might have been restricted.

Related: How To Check If Someone Blocked You On Instagram

Wrapping Up:

So, now you know What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram, isn’t it? If you want to know whether someone has restricted you or not then you can just assume since there is no full-proof method to find out.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Will Restricting Someone Refollow Them On Instagram?

The follow button and the restrict feature are not at all related. For instance, if you restrict someone after you unfollow them, then you can even unrestricted them without refollowing them.

Q. Can You Message Someone After Restricting Them On Instagram?

Yes, you can very much send as well as receive messages from them. but their message will stay unread until and unless you decide to accept their message.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top