What Does Friends Only Mean On TikTok | What You Need To Know?

What Does Friends Only Mean On TikTok

New to TikTok? Wanna get better at it? No big deal, it’s a matter of minutes only. Let’s start with what does friends only mean on TikTok! Yeah. It’s a feature in the settings of TikTok.

What Does ‘SMH’ Mean on TikTok?
What Does ‘SMH’ Mean on TikTok?

If someone enables the “friends only” feature of their TikTok then it means that the person wants to be visible to the only users who they follow back. Many users get confused with the friends only and mutuals, which is to become a pro-TikTok creator one needs to know what does friends only mean on TikTok. 

This friend only features on TikTokis helpful when you have a public profile. For instance, you may be okay with the fact that a huge number of people from all over the world are going to watch your reels. Although, you might only be able to share a couple of videos.

Many creators will also use this tool to temporarily hide certain uploads from the public. By setting it to “Friends Only”, they can remove it from their public profile without having to fully delete it. That way, they can set it back to the public in the future if they feel like it.

What Does Friends Only Mean On TikTok?

What Is "Friends Only" On TikTok

On other platforms, you get a separate friend list but TikTok’s case is different. TikTok doesn’t allow you with such a list. Although, through some other ways, one can get to peek into your friend’s friend list.

The first best way is, after opening your follower list, you will find all the users whom you follow. With that, you will observe the mark of “Friends” in front of every name.

Related: TikTok Library Giphy | TikTok’s New Video Creation Tool

How To Check Your Friends Only On TikTok? 

Hey! No Need to fuzz! It’s not rocket science. Instead, you will find the method quite easy.

There are a number of ways to explore your friends only users on TikTok, Let’s find out by the following ways :

How To Check Your Friends Only On TikTok From Following Section?

How To Check Your Friends Only On TikTok From Following Section

In this section, you will find users who follow you on TikTok and if you also follow them back then you are each other’s friends only.

Next, follow the steps to checkout:

  1. Launch TikTok on your device and open your Account page.
  2. You’ll find options like Post and Following followers.
  3. From that Account Page, head to “Followers“.
  4. Next, click on the Followers List. Click on it and let it open.
  5. Observe the marks on the right, “follow back” and friends.

Related: How To See Who Viewed Your TikTok Profile | Tiny TikTok Hacks!

How To Check Your Friends Only On TikTok From Their User Profile? 

How To Check Your Friends Only On TikTok From Their User Profile 

On each user’s profile page on TikTok, you will find two icons near the inbox. One icon will be of a tick above the head or a head and shoulder which means that the other person isn’t following you back, only you are following them on TikTok and you’re not counted as friends.

The other icon you’ll get to see would be a double tick on the head and shoulder icon which means you both are following each other and friends on TikTok. 

Let’s explore the instructions to find out these icons on your account : 

  1. Launch TikTok on your device and click on the Search bar.
  2. Enter any Username and open their Profile page.
  3. Observe a Both-Side Arrow icon near the inbox option, it means you both are following each other and are friends.

Related: What Is The TikTok Attractiveness Scale | How To Use TikTok Shapeshift Filter?

How To Change A TikTok Video To Friends Only?

How To Change A TikTok Video To Friends Only

To enable “Friends Only” for a TikTok video, you need to enter into the video and then find three dots on the right side of the video. 

Next, you need to scroll around the menu till the end and click on Privacy Settings. After that tap on the Who Can Watch This Video option after which you will receive three privacy settings. 

If you go for Everyone, then your TikTok video will be visible to the entire public. If you opt for Friends, then the video will be visible to your friends on TikTok. The third and final option is Only Me, where you will be the only one to whom your TikTok videos are visible.

Related: How To Do Siri Voice On TikTok? Go Viral With Siri!

How To Change A TikTok Video To Friends Only From Inbox?

To find from one’s inbox, follow the given instructions below:

  1. Open the TikTok application on your mobile and head to your Account.
  2. Open Inbox at the bottom of the home page.
  3. Find Friends List under the All Activity section.

The users with a mark of Friends are your friends on TikTok. This is the simplest way to find out who your friends are on TikTok.

Related: How To Check How Many People Blocked You On TikTok?

How To Change A TikTok Video To Friends Only From DM?

How To Change A TikTok Video To Friends Only From DM

To learn how to find out who are your friends and who aren’t, follow the given steps :

  1. Open your TikTok Account on your application and click on the Inbox option from the bottom of the homepage.
  2. After opening it, go to the DM icon and open it.
  3. Cross-check the names of the users who have sent you messages.

Because in TikTok, one is only able to receive text messages from there only, hence you’ll find all your friends under the DM section.

Related: Instagram Paid Subscriptions For Creators | TikTok Follows The Footsteps!

How To Add Users To Friends Only On TikTok?

Adding users to your friend list on your TikTok is an easy task. All you need to do is follow this set of instructions :

  1. Launch the TikTok application on your device and open your Account.
  2. Now click on your Following lists.
  3. In front of some usernames, you will observe an option to Follow or Follow Back. You can click on any to add them to Friends.

Related: How To Get Unbanned From TikTok? The Most Effective Way Of Getting Unbanned!

Wrapping Up

Same as Facebook and other platforms, TikTok doesn’t have a specific option to check on your friend’s list. You need to scroll down to your follower-following list to keep a check on it. You become friends on TikTok with the ones who follow you and whom you follow back.

As there’s no certain friends list on TikTok, hence one has to struggle a lot to find out who’s friend on TikTok. In this article, you’ll get the details about what does Friends Only mean on TikTok. 

For any further doubts and queries, please reach out to us in the comment section.

FAQs

Q1. Can One Search TikTok By Location?

Ans. If you wish to search TikTok influencers by their location then you can search for their TikTok accounts based on what country they are in.

Q2. How Can One Find Someone By Phone Number On TikTok?

Ans. Enter the “Find Friends” tab, there you will see “Find Contacts” then enter that specific number if you haven’t already. They’ll appear in the results if they’ll be using TikTok.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top