How To Delete Admin User On Mac? A Quick Guide!

How To Delete Admin User On Mac

Do you have trouble deleting an admin user on Mac? In this article, let us see how to delete admin user on Mac.

Installing software, managing users, and changing settings are all functions of an administrator. When you first set up your Mac, you establish a new user who is an administrator. There can be several administrators on your Mac. You are able to make new ones and upgrade regular users to administrator status.

To delete admin user on Mac, Login as a different admin user > Select System Preferences > Select Users & Groups tab > Click the lock icon in the bottom left corner > Enter your Mac password > Choose the Mac admin user whose account you want to delete > Click minus symbol > Delete user > Finally, click the padlock.

If there are more users as admin, you are allowed to delete an admin user as it frees up storage space on Mac and increases device speed. Continue reading to understand what are the steps involved and how to delete admin user on Mac.

How To Delete Admin User On Mac?

To delete admin user on Mac, Login as a different admin user > Select System Preferences > Select Users & Groups tab > Click the lock icon in the bottom left corner > Enter your Mac password > Choose the Mac admin user whose account you want to delete > Click minus symbol > Delete user > Finally, click the padlock.

You first need to log in as a different admin user using a different admin account to delete admin user on Mac. In order to do actions like downloading files or making other changes to the computer, you will need another admin account to be active before you delete the current admin account.

To delete:

Step 1: Log in as a different admin user.

Step 2: Select System Preferences from the drop-down menu by dragging the cursor toward the Apple logo in the taskbar.

Step 3: The Users & Groups tab will appear; select it to open a new window.

Also Read: How To Leave A Discord Server On Mac, App, Or PC

Step 4: You will see that changing the settings is not possible since you must first enter your password to access the options.

Step 5: In the bottom left corner of the current screen, click the lock icon. Then, in the new window that appears, enter your Mac password to unlock the setting.

How To Delete Admin User On Mac

Step 6: You must be able to access every setting on the Users & Groups page at this point. After unlocking, choose the Mac admin user whose account you want to delete, then click the minus symbol next to the user list on the right.

Also Read: How To Connect Oculus Quest To Mac | Steps Explained 

How To Delete Admin User On Mac

Step 7: You will be provided with three options:

Save the home folder in a disk image: The user’s papers and information will be archived in this way so they can be restored at a later time. The disc image is kept in the directory /Users/Deleted Users/.

Don’t change the home folder: The user’s files and information will remain in the Users folder if you don’t modify the home folder.

Delete the home folder: This will clear up all user data and information, freeing up space on your Mac computer.

How To Delete Admin User On Mac

Step 8: Select the required option and click Delete User.

Step 9: To prevent further modifications from being made by you or anyone else, click the padlock.

Also Read: How To Disable Chrome Extensions On Mac? A Complete Guide!

By following these steps, you can easily delete admin user on Mac. Make sure to preserve any crucial documents on an external drive or through a third-party cloud service before deleting an admin account on a Mac. 

Also Read: 8+ Best Home Design Software For MAC | Some of the Best for you!

How To Create An Admin Account On Mac?

Select the Apple button > System Preferences > Select Users & Groups > Click the padlock at the bottom > Enter username and password > Add new user by clicking add button > Enter information > Click create a user

If there is no other admin account except the account that you want to delete, you must first create another admin account. 

Step 1: Select the Apple button.

Step 2: Opt for System Preferences.

Step 3: Then select Users & Groups.

How To Delete Admin User On Mac

Step 4: To make modifications, click the padlock at the bottom to unlock it.

How To Delete Admin User On Mac

Step 5: Your username and password might need to be entered.

Step 6: You can add new users by clicking the Add button at the bottom of the user list. Choose it.

How To Delete Admin User On Mac

Step 7: You should be able to choose another administrator account from a pop-up menu by following the given instructions.

Step 8: Enter the information and click create a user.

By following these steps you can add a new admin user as well as delete admin user on Mac.

Also Read: How to Run Android Games On Mac | A Comprehensive Guide!

Wrapping Up

If an admin account is not active or if there is an extra admin account, you can always delete it to free up space and increase system speed. We hope this article has provided enough information on how to delete admin user on Mac. For more such informative articles, check out our website, Deasilex.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1. How Do I Remove An Administrator From My Mac Without A Password?

Ans. On a MacBook, an administrator account can be deleted without entering a password. To access the computer’s settings, first, make another administrator account deleting the old administrator account from the machine using the new administrator account.

Q2. How Do I Factory Reset A Mac?

Ans. As soon as your Mac starts, press and hold Option, Command, P, and R simultaneously. Approximately 20 seconds later, release the keys. This deletes user settings from memory and restores any potentially modified security features.

Q3. How Can I Find My Administrator Name And Password On My Mac?

Ans. On your dock, select System Privileges, or select System Preferences from the dropdown menu on the Apple menu. Locate the Users & Groups icon, then click it. From the list on the left, select your existing username. It’s an Administrator account if the term Admin appears under your username.

Q4. Is There A Way To Override The Administrator If You Forgot The Password On Mac?

Ans. Select Terminal from the navigation bar’s Utility section. To launch the Reset Password helper, type reset password in the Terminal window and hit Return. Click “Forgot all passwords?” if you are prompted to choose an admin user whose password you know.

Q5. Does Deleting A User On Mac Delete Files?

Ans. The user’s files and information are still available, and they can be recovered at a later time if necessary. The user data is removed, freeing up storage space.

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top