How To Delete Venmo Transaction History? 4 Easy Ways!

How To Delete Venmo Transaction History

Did you go out on a secret date with your crush? Did you share the dinner bill using Venmo? You should be worried if your friends and peers find out your secret from the Venmo transaction history? Do not worry, we are here to save you. Let us show you how to delete Venmo transaction history, before anyone sees it.

Venmo is a weird combination where banking meets social networking. With Venmo you can easily transact between friends and also make online payments. Currently there are over 83 million users for Venmo, which has processed over $230 billion, total payment volume in 2021.

We regret breaking it to you, but if you want to delete transaction history, it is not possible, as it will be saved in the Venmo servers. However, we have discovered ways in which you can hide your Venmo transaction history.

1.Block Venmo users

2.Make your past Venmo transactions private.

3.Make your future Venmo activities private.

4.Make one Venmo transaction private.

5.Delete Venmo Account.

What makes Venmo special is, along with making payments instantly, you can add short messages with an emoji, to each transaction. If you split the dinner bill, you can add an emoji of the spaghetti plate or the bowl of soup to it, which helps your friends identify that the nature of the transaction is related to food.

How to Delete Venmo Transaction History?

Before we proceed any further, we have to inform you that it is not possible to delete Venmo transaction history. All transactions made in Venmo are stored in the server, which makes it impossible to delete Venmo transaction history. However, we present to you, ways in which you can hide your Venmo transaction history from all or any one particular user.

Method 1: Block Venmo Users

If you want to hide your Venmo transaction history from one particular user or a few users, the best option for you is to block them. When you block them, they will no longer be able to view you Venmo activities, making it the best alternative to delete Venmo transaction history.

Before you decide to block users on Venmo, you should know that,

·   You will not be able to pay or receive payments from them.

·   You will no longer be visible in each-others’ search.

·   You will not be able to send or receive payment requests to/from them.

When you block users on Venmo, they are probably going to think that you have deleted your Venmo account, due to the absence of your Venmo account activities.

Keeping all this in mind, let us proceed to block users on Venmo accounts which have similar effects to delete Venmo transaction history.

Delete Venmo Transaction History - Block

Step 1: Open the Venmo app.

Step 2: Go to the profile of the user you wish to block.

Step 3: Click on the Menu icon (Three vertical dots) near the username.

Step 4: Select Block.

Step 5: Log out of Venmo.

Step 6: Log in to your Venmo account.

When you login to your Venmo account you will no longer be able to connect to the blocked user through Venmo. You can no longer send or receive payments to them while using the app. You can follow the above instructions to block all the users you wish to hide from or to delete Venmo transaction history.

Note: If you want to send or receive payments from them in the future, you can unblock at any time by opening Settings > Privacy > Blocked users > Select the user to unblock > Click the Menu icon > Tap on Unblock user.

Related : How To Add Gift Card To Venmo | A Quick Guide!

Method 2: Make Your Venmo Transactions Private

Venmo transactions are set to be viewed by all. You can change this default settings, and choose to keep your Venmo transactions private. Doing this will not delete Venmo transaction history, but will restrict the number of users who view it.

Delete Venmo Transaction History - Private

Step 1: Open the Venmo app on your device.

Step 2: Click on the Menu icon on the top left corner.

Step 3: Click on Settings.

Step 4: Select Privacy.

Step 5: Scroll down and select Past Transactions.

Step 6: Choose to Change All to Private. Confirm it once again by clicking the pop-up.

Your transaction history will no longer be accessible to your friends. They will not be able to view your transactions which makes it an alternative to delete Venmo transaction history.

Method 3: Make Your Future Venmo Activities Private

You can opt to make changes to your Venmo account settings to hide your future Venmo activities and transactions, by making your account private. Making your Venmo account private is an alternative to delete Venmo transactions history.

Step 1: Click your Profile picture at the bottom right corner of your app,

Delete Venmo Transaction History - profile

Step 2: Click the Settings icon on the top right of your Profile.

Delete Venmo Transaction History - Settings

Step 3: Select Privacy.

Delete Venmo Transaction History - Privacy

Step 4: Choose Private.

Delete Venmo Transaction History - Private

Step 5: Confirm to change your default privacy settings by clicking Change Anyway.

Your Venmo transactions will no longer be visible to the contacts in your account. You can choose this method as an alternative to delete Venmo transaction history.

Related : How To Sell Crypto On Venmo | 4 Simple Steps To Try!

Method 4: Make One Transaction Private

If you want to hide one particular transaction from your peers, you can choose to make it private as an alternative to delete Venmo transaction history.

Step 1: Open Venmo app.

Step 2: Click on your Profile icon on the bottom-right corner.

Delete Venmo Transaction History - profile

Step 3: Select the transaction that you want to hide.

Step 4: Click the blue hyperlink ‘Private’, on the right of the Transaction Details.

Delete Venmo Transaction History - Private

Step 5: Click on Private (Your Default).

Delete Venmo Transaction History - Default to Private

The transaction that you wish to hide will no longer be visible to anyone in your contacts. It will be visible only to the sender and the receiver.

Related : How To Transfer BNB From Crypto.com To Trust Wallet?

Wrap Up

Venmo is a ubiquitous online payment app that has millions of trusted users all over the world. However, nothing is guaranteed when online trading and transactions are concerned. Especially when hackers and scammers are circling like hungry hawks, waiting for the right opportunity. If you want to have safe online transactions, it is recommended that you change your privacy settings and keep your banking transactions private. So, instead of trying to delete Venmo transaction history, you can simply opt to keep your account ‘Private’, to hide your Venmo transactions from others.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1. Can I Delete My Venmo Transaction History?

No. You cannot delete your Venmo transaction history. All you can do is hide your past Venmo transactions by blocking particular users or making your Venmo account Private.

Q2. Why Can I Not Delete Venmo Transaction History?

All Venmo transactions are saved to Venmo servers. So there is no possible way to entirely delete Venmo transaction history. However, you can permanently delete your Venmo account, which will remove all your accounting details made through Venmo.

Q3. Is Venmo Safe?

Venmo has been operating since 2009, with over 83 million trusted users. It has processed over $230 billion, total payment volume in 2021 alone. It follows a free of charge, peer to peer (P2P) payment method that engages transactions mostly between people on your contacts and also to registered traders.

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top