How To Delete Tumblr Account On App | A Complete Guide!

How To Delete Tumblr Account On App

Do you want a break from social networking? Is it getting difficult trying to keep up with the demands and expectations of your followers? It is ok for you to put your social networking on hold and take some time off. So, are you wondering how to delete Tumblr account on app? We are here to guide you through the process.

Tumblr has been under the scrutiny of its users, regarding privacy issues, since 2013. It has been attacked by hackers and phishers repeatedly. Users have complaints about bugs and malware found in Tumblr’s advertisements. Users were shocked when Tumblr put a blanket ban, due to spreading of explicit content in 2018.

Social networking platforms should consider the privacy of its users as serious business. Tumblr cannot expect its users to be understanding and forgiving, despite the platforms’ repeated security issues. This puts the private information of all the users at risk. It includes leak of username and password, and in one instance hackers got the IP address of all the Tumblr users.

In such a situation, it is understandable if you want to delete Tumblr account on app. All you have to do is open Settings and select Account to delete Tumblr account on app. To make things easy for you we have prepared a complete guide for you to help you delete Tumblr account on app.

How To Delete Tumblr Account On App?

Before you decide to delete Tumblr account on app, try to consider other options. First think about why do you want to delete Tumblr account on app? If it is because of one specific post or some blogs that you wish were gone, you need not delete the Tumblr account. You can opt to just delete the posts that you wish did not exist.

But if it is for security reasons, or other personal reasons that you want to delete Tumblr account on app, we are here to help you.

The reason why you find it difficult to delete Tumblr account on app is because, unlike all the other social networking platforms, you will not be able to easily delete Tumblr account on app. You will not be able to locate the Delete Account option under Settings or the Account Settings like it is found in all the other apps.

To delete Tumblr account on app, you will have to open Tumblr using your web browser. Doing this will enable you to delete Tumblr account on app.

Related : How to Block and Unblock People on Tumblr 2022?

Step 1 – Back Up Your Data

When you delete Tumblr account on app you will lose all the data relating to the app. You will lose all the pictures and videos that you had used, along with your posts. So, make sure that you have backed up all the necessary personal data for your future reference.

Follow these steps to request data download on Tumblr.

1.Open Privacy Dashboard > Select Download Your Data

2.Click Request a Download

3.Choose all the data that you want to download.

4.Click ‘Next’ > Enter the e-mail address you want to be notified of the download when ready.

5.Select ‘Request Download’. Know that it might take up to 30 days for your download request to be processed.

6.Check the Privacy Dashboard when you get the notification that your data is ready for download.

7.Select Download Your Data > Click Your Download Requests.

8.Click ‘Download’. Your data will be downloaded in JSON format.

delete Tumblr account on app

Step 2 – Login Tumblr

Now, open the Tumblr app and login to your account, using your username and password. If you have enabled two-factor authentication, enter the security code that you have received in to your mobile phone.

delete Tumblr account on app

Step 3 – Delete Account

Now that you have successfully logged in, click on ‘Account’ > Select Settings

Scroll down and select the Delete Account.

delete Tumblr account on app

Step 4 – Verify your Account

You will have to enter your email address and the password to complete the process.

Click on Delete Everything

Re-enter your email address and click the authentication key to confirm the Delete Tumblr Account on app.

delete Tumblr account on app

Step 5 – Accept Terms and Policies

Click on ‘Accept’. You will be displayed Tumblr’s Terms and Services along with the apps’ Privacy Policies. Once you confirm to delete Tumblr account on app, your account along with all your posts and data will be deleted.

delete Tumblr account on app

Deactivate or Delete Tumblr?

Deactivating your Tumblr account is permanent. If you deactivate your Tumblr account, you will be deleted from all the groups that you have joined and forfeit all leftover Tumblr credits. If you have a premium Tumblr blog, all themes and advertisements that you’ve paid for will be deleted.

Know that you will not be able delete your primary Tumblr account. You should login to the desktop version of the app if you want to delete Tumblr Account on app. But you can easily delete your secondary blog in the app. Having a secondary blog will help you increase follower interactions. You will be able to gain more popularity with the help of the secondary blog and you can also easily discard it when you want.

Related : How To Make Money Tumblr | A Complete Guide!

How to Delete a Post on Tumblr?

Do you want to delete a blog on Tumblr? Remember that you cannot opt to delete your primary blog. You can follow these steps to delete secondary blogs on the app.

Step 1 – Open Tumblr.

Step 2 – Click on your Profile.

Step 3 – Select the blog that you want to delete.

Step 4 – Click the 3 dots icon near your blog name.

Step 5 – Select Delete this blog.

Step 6 – You will be prompted to enter your password to delete the blog.

delete Tumblr account on app

You can opt to delete all your blogs if you wish to cleanse your Tumblr account, instead of deleting the app.

Wrap Up

Tumblr does not allow its users to deactivate or temporarily close their Tumblr account. If you want to cleanse your Dashboard or start fresh, you will have to delete Tumblr account on app and sign up for a new account. So, there is no turning back once you delete Tumblr account on app. Make up your mind before you delete your Tumblr account as there will be no take backs.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q Can I Add Another Account On The Tumblr App?

Yes. You can add another alternate account on the Tumblr app.

1.Open Tumblr app.

2.Click on your Profile on the bottom-left corner.

3.Select Add Account on the top-right corner

4.Enter username and password for the account that you want to add to the app.

5.Click Sign in

Q Can I Clear My Tumblr Account?

You can delete your Tumblr account through the “Edit appearance” menu. Once you delete your Tumblr account, it can’t be recovered. If other users have reblogged your Tumblr posts, deleting your account won’t automatically delete those posts from their blogs.

Q Does Tumblr Deactivate Inactive Accounts?

If you do not login to your Tumblr account after one year, Tumblr will send you an email seeking to reclaim your username. If you take no action, your username will expire.

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top