With the family sharing feature of Apple, you can easily get access to the Apple services and the purchases that you make with your family. With the Apple sharing feature, you can even share the photos and the iCloud storage and even share each other’s location. But at times, this feature does get annoying and you want to get rid of it and disable the family sharing feature. But do you know how to disable Apple family sharing?
The family sharing feature on Apple devices is actually really great for families. But it is not always a good idea to give the kids access to the contents and purchases that are being shared on this platform. This is useful for the families since the family sharing feature will allow the parents as well as the children to share their location with the other family members.
But, if you are the organizer of this family sharing, then for you removing any member from the family sharing or disabling then will be really easy. But the question that follows is do you know how to disable Apple Family Sharing?
Well, if you do want to remove any member of the family from the family sharing group or if you want to disable it, then you need not worry as we have got you covered. Here in this post, we are going to discuss how you can disable the Apple family sharing group.
What Is The Apple Sharing Feature?
The Apple family sharing feature is made so that it becomes easier for the family members to share the content, storage, and purchases that have been made on different Apple ID accounts and iOS devices.
This family sharing feature will work on different iOS devices as well as on Mac. It will also allow six people to share the iTunes, app store purchases, Apple news, and subscriptions like the Apple arcade subscription. It will also allow you to share an iCloud storage plan, photos, location, calendars, Apple books, etc. you can share all of these without sharing the accounts.
What Happens When You Exclude Yourself Or Other Family Members From Family Sharing?
One thing that you need to keep in mind is that when you remove yourself or the other family members from the family sharing then you will face immediate consequences. When you remove yourself or other members from the family sharing group, then those members will not have access to the shared Apple devices and the subscription. This will also include the storage plans, media that has been purchased by the other users, and the paid apps.
If you are using an app that has been purchased by the other family members, then when you remove them from the family group you will have to personally buy them so that you can continue to use the apps. If you have made in-app purchases, then these will be available to you only when you buy the app with your Apple account.
If we talk about the DRM-protected media, then when you remove the user from the group the files will be there in the group on all the devices that it was used to access. But, you will not be able to open these files and see the content until and unless you buy the media yourself. Also, if the user that has been removed from the family sharing group was using the Apple cash family and had a balance then all the money will get transferred to the group organizer.
How To Disable Apple Family Sharing?
Before we start to discuss how to disable Apple Family Sharing, it is important for you to know that only the family group organizer can disband the group and can disable this feature. So, when the group is disabled, it will remove all the members from the groups. Also, the members of the group will have access to the apps and the media that they had paid for.
How To Disable Apple Family Sharing With iPhone Or iPad?
Here are a few steps that you have to follow to know how to disable Apple Family Sharing using your iPhone or iPad:
- First, go to the settings option.
- Tap on your name or account.
- Chose the family sharing.
- Now tap on your name.
- Next, you need to click on the stop using the family feature, and you are done.
Also Read, How To Cancel Apple TV + Subscription?
How To Disable Apple Family Sharing Using Mac?
Here are a few steps to use to disband the family sharing group using Mac:
- First, go to the system preferences.
- Now press on the family sharing option.
- Press on to the details button. You will find this button just next to your name.
- Now click on stop family sharing.
How To Remove Yourself Or A Family Member From Family Sharing?
you can even remove specific family members including yourself freon the family sharing group. You can do this without disabling the general functions of the role.
How To Remove Yourself Or A Family Member Using iPad Or iPhone?
- Go to the settings option.
- Now choose your name.
- Click on the family sharing option.
- Now press on the option that says stop using family sharing.
How To Remove Yourself Or A Family Member Using Mac?
- Go to the system preferences option.
- Now click on the family sharing option.
- Press on to the details button which you will find adjacent to your name
- Now choose the stop family sharing option.
So now you know how to disable Apple Family Sharing. The methods that we have mentioned are really easy and you will not face any issues when you try to follow these steps. Though this feature is best for those members who want to share content, media, subscriptions, etc.
Frequently asked questions
Q. How To Delete A User Who Is Below 13 Years From The Apple Sharing Group?
You actually cannot remove the age-restricted family member from the family sharing group. But you need as there are ways to do so. For example, in the US you need to move the family members to either another family member or you delete their Apple account.